• Home
  • Cherry Picked - University announces 2015-16 class of Senior Administrative Fellows

University announces 2015-16 class of Senior Administrative Fellows

Wednesday, October 07, 2015

LAWRENCE — The Office of the Provost has selected nine University of Kansas faculty members for the 2015-2016 Senior Administrative Fellows Program.

The program takes advantage of the wealth of talent at KU by identifying and cultivating current and potential leaders already in the faculty. Now in its 23rd year, the Senior Administrative Fellows Program provides an opportunity for selected tenured faculty interested in leadership roles to see the nuts and bolts of administrative activities and responsibilities. In addition to learning more about major units of the university, fellows meet with KU’s senior leadership and take part in discussions surrounding academic leadership, public policy and the future of higher education.

“The fellows exemplify the high caliber of faculty members we have across all disciplines at KU,” said Mary Lee Hummert, vice provost of faculty development. “KU is fortunate to have several faculty eager to learn more about academic leadership. Several past participants in the program have gone on to administrative leadership positions at KU or elsewhere, and I’m confident this year’s fellows will carry on that tradition.”

The class of fellows is selected from applications solicited late in the spring semester of the previous academic year.

2015-16 senior administrative fellows

  • Kelly Chong, associate professor and director of graduate studies, sociology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Susan Egan, professor and chair, molecular biosciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Bruce Frey, associate professor, educational psychology, School of Education
  • Ted Juhl, professor and chair, economics, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Clarence Lang, associate professor and chair, African and African-American studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Rosemary O'Leary, Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration, School of Public Affairs and Administration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Bob Parsons, professor, civil, environmental and architectural engineering; director of construction, School of Engineering
  • Ann Rowland, associate professor, English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Dave Tell, associate professor, communication studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Hummert leads the program with Jenny Mehmedovic, executive associate to the vice provost for faculty development.

The specialist program in school psychology is approved by the National Association of School Psychologists
School of Education is 10th among public universities for its master’s and doctoral programs
—U.S. News & World Report
Doctoral programs in school psychology and counseling psychology are accredited by the American Psychological Association
Involved in $22 million project to create new testing system for special education students
Robert Harrington is creating a certification program in bullying prevention for educators
KU Today
Connect with KU Educational Psychology

KU School of Education Facebook page

KU School of Education YouTube Channel

KU School of Education Twitter Feed

KU School of Ed instagram icon

KU School of Ed LinkedIn icon